Kaitieki o Ngati Maru, Ngati Kaipoho, Ngai Tawhiri, Ngati Ruapani ki Turanga


The Rongowhakaata Charitable Trust (now known as the Rongowhakaata Iwi Trust) was incorporated under the Charitable Trusts Act 1957 on 10 April 1997.

The Trust Membership

One trustees is elected from each of the five marae within the rohe of Rongowhakaata

  • Manutuke
  • Ohako
  • Te Kuri a Tuatai
  • Te Pahou
  • Whakato

Along with three general trustees who are elected from across the iwi.

Our Mission:

To achieve Tino Rangatiratanga by “actively” encouraging and supporting the social, economic, cultural and political growth and advancement of Rongowhakaata Iwi.

Our Aim:

The strengthening of Rongowhakaata Iwi.

Election of Trustees

Trustees are elected on three year terms.

Trust Deed

Link to Trust Deed – RIT Trust Deed


Results of Special Resolution. Nov 2017

RESOLUTION: That the amended Rongowhakaata Iwi Trust Deed, in the form advertised with the public notice, be adopted as the Trust Deed for the Rongowhakaata Iwi Trust. 









The resolution has received approval from more than 75% of members who validly cast a vote; the resolution is therefore APPROVED

Click here to see Approved Trust Deed

As per the transitional arrangements of the approved Trust Deed the first Annual General Meeting of this Trust Deed will be held before June 2018. All current Trustees will remain in office until the Annual General Meeting in 2018 where all Trustees are required to resign and an election will be held in accordance with the Second Schedule of the approved Deed. Those Trustees required to stand down due to this transition will be eligible to stand for re-election.

All inquiries regarding the election process should be directed to Adam Maynard at elections@rongowhakaata.iwi.nz or call (06) 86 28086.

Please contact the Rongowhakaata Iwi Trust Office for other inquiries relating to the Trust Deed amendments trust@rongowhakaata.iwi.nz or call (06) 86 28086